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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Ramona Foley, Assistant Director  Harry Gilmore, Manager   
Department of Human Services   Technical Assistance Unit 
Children, Adults & Families   DHS, Children, Adults and Families 
500 Summer Street, NE    500 Summer Street NE, E-73 
Salem, OR 97310-1017    Salem, OR 97301-1067 
      Telephone: (503) 945-6685 
 
ICPC Consultants    ICPC Support/Runaways 
Lisa Buss, Lead Worker  L-R  Carol Gillespie 
(503) 945-5671     (503) 945-5994 
Diana Hammond  A-K 
(503) 945-5673 
Teresa Anderson  R-Z 
(Private/Independent Adoption) 
(503) 945-7019 
 
Address Correspondence and Telephone Calls to: Deputy Compact Administrator.  
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Pacific Time Zone.  
 
FAX: (503) 947-5072 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. ORS 417.200 – 260.417.990. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. ORS 417.990 penalty for placement of children in violation of 
the Compact is a Class A misdemeanor may be grounds for revocation of license of private child-
caring agency. ORS 418.260. 
 
Age of Majority. 18 years. ORS sec. 109.510. Wardships may continue until 21 years of age where 
service need. Upon marriage, all persons shall be deemed to have reached the age of majority. ORS 
sec. 109.520. For those youth committed to DHS, jurisdiction may extend beyond age 18 only if an 
exception is made by a service delivery area manager. 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Circuit Court, Family and Children’s Affairs: ORS sees. 3.260, 3.270. In four 
counties (Gilliam, Morrow, Sherman, Wheeler) County Courts retain juvenile jurisdiction 
(delinquency, dependency, neglect). ORS sec. 3.263. 
 
Circuit Court. Adoption. ORS Sec 109.309. 
 
REQUIREMENTS  
 
Referrals must contain ICPC-100A, court order, child summary, cover letter, and supporting 
financial/medical plan. 
 
Reports. As designated on the ICPC-100A. 
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Licensing Requirements. Private child care agencies must be incorporated and licensed by DHS. ORS 
SECS. 418.205-418.255. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. (Consent to Adopt): Lawful if made by legal parents, guardian if 
no living parent; or relative if no parent is state and no guardian. Fee for home study is $794 plus 
travel expenses. The fee is paid directly to the licensed Oregon adoption agency who holds a DHS 
contract to conduct home studies and placement reports. Fee for placement report is $675 and is 
paid directly to DHS. The maximum fee charged by a licensed contracted Oregon adoption agency 
to approve an out-of-state home study is $150. An adoptive home study is valid for a period of 2 
years or until placement of a child. The adoption petition must be accompanied by an adoption 
disclosure statement. The statement must contain itemized accounting of all moneys paid or 
estimated to be paid by a petitioner for fees, costs, and expenses related to the adoption. No court 
shall grant a decree for an independent adoption without first receiving the home study and 
placement report or DHS waiver, consent to adoption by legal parents or guardian, statement of full 
names and addresses of petitioners, and consent of adoption agency, if necessary. The court shall not 
rule on any adoption petition for 60 days from date of filing, unless such waiting period is waived by 
DHS. 
 
Adoption Petition. See ORS 109.309 for information and documentation required. Must show 
compliance with UCCJA (ORS 109.700-109.990) including child’s significant connection with 
Oregon. 
 
Adoption Home Studies. A statutory requirement. Home studies are required when the children are 
placed by licensed adoption agencies. The adoption petition must include written evidence 
documenting a current home study approved by DHS or a licensed Oregon adoption agency. For 
consideration of special needs children, adoptive applicants must have special needs adoption 
training. 
 
Residency. One petitioner, the child, or one birth parent must be a resident of this state. “Resident” 
means a person who has resided in this state continuously for a period of six (6) months prior to the 
date of the petition. 
 
Custody Studies. Studies regarding custody issues are not done by the public agency. The family 
needs to contact the court directly regarding what is acceptable. Social workers doing home studies 
have to be contracted by a private agency, for adoptive studies. Private licensed agencies may also do 
custody studies. 
 
Adoption Referral Requirements. Referral package must include, ICPC 100A, Notarized Intent to 
Consent to Adoption (if child not born), background medical/social history form on the birth 
parents, a statement regarding the biological fathers rights, (or surrender). Once child is born the 
final consents and medical information on the child will be needed. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: All placements by agencies, courts and 
parents from outside the state into residential facilities are subject to ICPC 
procedures. Educational and medical facilities are exempt. 



(Rev. Jan. 2004) 

OREGON STATE PAGE 
 
 

 

 
-Requirements for Placements: ICPC-100A, child summary, court order or other 
legal document authorizing child’s placement and acceptance letter from the facility. 

 
-Approval of Facilities: DHS is responsible for licensing private child caring 
agencies. Licenses are renewed biennially. 

 
-Rate Setting: Rates are negotiated between the facility and the sending agency. 
Educational costs should be included in the agreed upon rate. 

 
-Monitoring of the Child: Supervisory reports may be submitted through ICPC. 

 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placement should be in 
child’s best interests and the ICPC done. 

 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments. Payments will be made for children placed with a relative within the degree of 
consanguinity specified in the Federal Regulations. 
 
Medicaid Coverage. Medicaid coverage will be authorized on behalf of eligible Oregon children. 
Those children not eligible for Medicaid may be eligible for Oregon General Assistance funded 
medical coverage. 
 
Foster Care Payments. Oregon rates are paid. In order for payment to be made to relatives, the child 
must continue to meet the Federal Requirements for the Title IV-E foster care program. If eligibility 
should change while the child is out of state with the child no longer being eligible, foster care 
payments cease in accordance with Oregon Statutes. 
 
Education Payments. ORS sec. 339.133. A child that is considered a resident of Oregon shall receive 
a free and appropriate education from the district in which the child resides. Payments are not 
provided for a nonresident child. The sending state is financially responsible for a nonresident child. 
A child shall be considered a resident in the school district in which their parents, guardians or 
persons in a parental relationship to them reside. Children placed by a public or private agency who 
are living in substitute care programs licensed, certified or approved shall be considered a resident in 
the school district in which they reside by placement of the public or private agency. A substitute 
care program means family foster care, family group home care, parole foster care, family shelter 
care, adolescent shelter care and professional group care. The sending state should send legal 
documentation to the person(s) accepting such responsibility thereby assuring the youth’s entitlement 
for a free and appropriate education. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse. Calls from outside Oregon are not toll free. Telephone: (503) 378-6704, 8:00 a.m. to 
5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. Telephone: (503) 945-5671.  
 
Mental Health Compact Office. Telephone: (503) 945-9724. 
 


