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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Margaret Waybright    Nancy Chalhoub 
Department of Health and Human Resources  Department of Health and Human Resources 
Bureau for Children and  Families   Bureau for Children and Families 
350 Capitol Street, Room 730   Children and Adult Services 
Charleston, WV 25301-3711   350 Capital Street, Room 691 
Telephone: (304) 558-0628   Charleston, WV 25301-3704 
      Telephone: (304) 558-1260 
Secretary  
Robin Carnell      ICPC Specialist – Residential Referrals 
(304) 558-1261     Linda Kennedy 

(304) 558-5770 
 
Address all correspondence to: Deputy Compact Administrator. 
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 am. to 4:30 p.m., Eastern Standard Time. 
 
FAX: (304) 558-4563 
 
 
GENERAL  INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. West Virginia Code 49-2A-1 through 49-2A-2. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. Fine $10-100, or confined in jail fo3r 5 days, 6 months, or both. 
West Virginia Code 49-7-20. 
 
Age of Majority. 18 years under West Virginia Code 49-2-2, or until she/he is discharged because 
she/he is no longer in need of care. Jurisdiction of the court may continue over any child under the 
age of 21 years who has been adjudicated delinquent. 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Circuit Court assigned to juvenile matters sits as a juvenile court, West Virginia 
Code 49-5-1 (1975 Supp). Family Court has jurisdiction over domestic relations matters including 
divorce proceedings, child custody, child support etc. 
 
SPECIAL  INFORMATION 
 
Custody Investigation/Divorce Cases-Those Unrelated to ICPC. Requests for investigations in Non-
ICPC custody disputes are not provided by the WV Department of Heath and Human Resources 
unless there are valid child protective concerns. All such Non-ICPC requests will be returned to the 
sender with a notation that the Court, agency, attorney or family may contract for needed services 
with a private licensed agency of choice or any licensed social worker in private practice.  Child 
Protective Service alerts should be directed to WVDHHR Bureau for Children and Family Services, 
Children and Adult Services Attn: Laura Sperry. In instances of alleged abuse or neglect, the matter 
will be referred to the county social services office. 
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REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly reports are required unless otherwise specified. 
 
Licensing Requirements. Foster family homes are approved according to state wide standards set by 
the Department of Health and Human Resources Services. West Virginia Code 49-2-9 (1975 Supp.). 
Child caring institutions are licensed by the WVDHHR West Virginia Code 49-2B. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Such placements are legal and are not restricted within the state. 
Placements involving other states must meet ICPC requirements. WV DHHR local offices do not 
provide home studies or post-placement supervisory services in re: independent adoptive placements. 
 
Adoption Petition. Petition is filed in Circuit Court in county of petitioner’s residence. West Virginia 
Code 48-4-1. There is no stated time between filing of the petition and final decree. Child must reside 
with adopting family six months before filing of petition. West Virginia 48-4-1 (b). 
 
Residential Placements 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: All placements into residential facilities 
by parents, agencies, and courts from outside the state must be approved except 
placements into institutions for the mentally ill, mentally retarded, or educational or 
medical facilities. 
 
-Requirements for Placement: ICPC 100A, Child Summary, and legal documents 
authorizing child’s placement. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: Residential facilities are licensed every two years based on 
reviews completed by the WVDHHR Bureau for Children and Families and the Fire 
Marshall’s Office.  If the facility also provides behavioral health services it will also 
be licensed every two years by the Bureau of Public Health-OHFLAC. 
 
-Rate Setting: Rates are negotiated between each facility and the Bureau for Children 
and Families (Office of Finance and Administration) and the Bureau of Medical 
Services. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child: Sending agency and residential facility are responsible. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placements are to be time 
limited and in the child’s best interest. 
 
-Requirements for Foster Care Placements: Foster homes must be approved by 
WV/DHHR. 

 
 
 
 
 
 



(Rev. Feb. 2005) 

WEST VIRGINIA STATE PAGE 
 
 

 

PAYMENTS 
 
AFDC Payments. May be made on behalf of nonresident children placed with relatives in West 
Virginia. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Provided for West Virginia children placed with foster parents and relatives 
(excluding natural parents) in other states who are receiving a foster care payment. Nonresident 
children whose relatives receive TANF are also covered by Medicaid. 
 
Foster Care. West Virginia rates apply in out-of-state placements. Children in custody of WVDHHR 
are eligible for foster care maintenance payments if the out-of-state placement resource is 
licensed/certified/approved by the receiving state. 
 
Special Education Payments. Not required for nonresident children placed in West Virginia, but at 
the option of the local school board. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE  NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse/Protective Services. Laura Sperry, WV DHHR, Bureau for Children and Family 
Services, Children and Adult Services. (304) 558-7980. 
 
Child Abuse Hotline. 800-352-6513. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office/Department of Corrections. WV Supreme Court, Administrative Offices, 
Mike Lacy, (304) 558-0145. 
 
Licensing. Kathie King, WV DHHR, Bureau for Children and Family Services, Children and Adult 
Services. (304) 558-7980. 
 


