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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR   DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Anthony Conyers, Jr., Agency Commissioner  RoseMarie Keith, ICPC Manager 
VA Department of Social Services   VA Department of Social Services 
Division of Family Services    Division of Family Services 
Interstate Compact Unit     Interstate Compact Unit 
7 North 8th Street, 4th Floor    7 North 8th Street, 4th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23219     Richmond, VA 23219 
Telephone: (804) 726-7011    Telephone: (804) 726-7581 
E-mail: commissioner@dss.virginia.gov E-mail: 

rosemarie.keith@dss.virginia.gov  
 
Interstate Specialists        
Betty (Sunshine) Arnold, FC/A Interstate Specialist (804) 726-7580  
Sara Coxon, Lead Social Worker (804) 726-7504 
Latrice Anderson, Interstate Technician (804) 726-7507 
Phyllis Parham, Interstate Technician (804) 726-7557 
Sylvia Purvis, Interstate Technician (804) 726-7582 
Rita White, Interstate/ICAMA Specialist (804) 726-7603   
Grace Richardson, FC/A Interstate Specialist (804) 726-7583 
Vacant, FC/A Interstate Specialist (804) 726-7965 
    
Address Correspondence To: Deputy Compact Administrator. 
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time Zone. 
 
FAX: (804) 726-7498. Call before faxing any documents. 
 
 
GENERAL  INFORMATION 
 
Virginia Revised Code. Code Sections 63.2-1000 and 63.2-1100. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. None. 
 
Age of Majority. 18 years. (Code Section 16.1-228). 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Juvenile and Domestic Relations court in the district where the child/family preside(s) 
handles abuse and neglect, children in need of services and delinquent petitions. Circuit court in the district of 
residence handles petitions for divorce. Adoption petitions may be filed in the Circuit Court where the 
petitioners reside or where the placing agency is located. 
 
SPECIAL  INFORMATION 
 
Child Custody. Requests for evaluations on parents in divorce cases may be sent directly to the appropriate local 
agency or court service unit, if address is known. If unknown, request may be sent, in duplicate, to the ICPC 
office for forwarding to the local agency for direct response. All requests involving parties other than parents 
must be sent, along with the court order, to the ICPC office. 
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REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly reports are required unless otherwise specified. Child placement agencies are to supervise 
foster care placements as required by the State Board of Social Services. (Code Section 63.2-904). Three visits 
within a six (6) month period are required for adoptive placements. (Code Section 63.2-1212). 
 
Licensing Requirements. Authorization to place is restricted to public departments of social services and 
licensed child-placing agencies. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Lawful in Virginia providing the placement was directly arranged and made 
by child’s parents or legal guardian. (Section Code 63.2-1230 ). Procedures for Parental Placement Adoption into 
and out of Virginia are accessible at www.dss.state.va.us/pub/pdf/icpc_parental. Contact ICPC office for 
procedures. 
 
Adoption Petition. Adoption petitions are to be filed in the court of jurisdiction either where the adoptive 
parents reside or where the agency having custody of the child is located. (Code Section 63.2-1201). 90 days 
minimum time between filing of the petition for adoption and final decree. (Code Section 63.2-1212). For 
agency placements, child is to have lived in the home of the petitioner(s) for at least six (6) months and have had 
at least three (3) supervisory visits with no less then 90 days between the first and last visit before the petition 
for adoption can be filed.  
 
Preplacement Adoptive Home Studies. Required by Code Sections 63.2-904 and 63.2-1231. 
 
Residential Placements 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: All placements by agencies, courts, school 
divisions, and parents require interstate approval with the exception of placements in to those 
facilities primarily educational in nature. 
 
Requirements for Placements: ICPC-100A, child summary, recent diagnostic assessment, and 
statement indicating why placement into a Virginia facility is in the child’s best interest. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: Residential facilities are approved through the Coordinator’s office,  
Interdepartmental Licensure  and  Certification, Commonwealth of Virginia Department of 
Social Services. 
 
-Rate Setting: Determined by private facilities. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child: Sending agency and residential facility are responsible. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Virginia foster homes are approved in 
accordance with agency standards. Foster homes for Virginia children placed out of state must 
meet standards set by the receiving state. 
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PAYMENTS 
 
AFDC Payments. Virginia agencies are prohibited from making such payments for nonresident children placed 
with relatives in Virginia. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Provided for Virginia children placed with foster parents and relatives in other states until 
agency custody is terminated. Coverage is limited to three (3) months for placements with natural parents. 
 
Foster Care Payments. Payments are made in accordance with the receiving state’s rates.  
 
Adoption Subsidy. Subsidy is available for monthly maintenance and/or special services at local agency option. 
Special Education Payments. Provided for non-resident children in a limited number of localities. 
 
USEFUL  TELEPHONE  NUMBERS  
 
Child & Adult Abuse Hotline.  
 

(804) 371-0896 if reporting Adult Abuse from out-of-state telephone number.  

(804) 786-8536 if reporting Child Abuse from out-of-state telephone number.  

(888) 832-3858 if reporting Adult Abuse from within Virginia. 

(800) 552-7096 if reporting Child Abuse from within Virginia. 

1-800-838-8238 Virginia Family Violence Hotline. 

 
Juvenile Compact Office.  (804) 692-0167, Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice. 
 
Mental Health Interstate Transfers.  (804) 786-0040. 
 
Adoption Exchange of VA (AREVA).  (800) 362-3678. www.adopt.org.va 
 
ICAMA Compact. (804) 726-7582 or 726-7557 
 
Closed Adoption Inquiries. (804) 726-7523 or 726-7526 
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