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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Howard Hendrick, Director 
Department of Human Services 
Telephone: (405) 521-3646 
E-mail: Howard.Hendrick@okdhs.org  
 
DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR (Foster Care/Kinship/Relative/Institution) 
Deborah Cathey 
Department of Human Services 
Division of Children & Family Services 
P.O. Box 25352 
Oklahoma City, OK 73125 

Colleen Whipple, Administrative Assistant 
Telephone: (405) 522-1599 
Fax: (405) 522-4488 
 

Telephone: (405) 522-0672 
E-mail: Deborah.Cathey@okdhs.org  
 
ICPC ADOPTIONS: 
PUBLIC and PRIVATE ADOPTIONS are processed by: 
Mike Nomura   Telephone: (918) 491-6767 
Heritage Family Services  Fax: (918) 491-6717 
5110 S. Yale Avenue, Suite 525 E-mail: MikeHFS@aol.com  
Tulsa, OK  74135  
 
ICPC Adoptions Deputy Compact Administrator, Linda Foster: 
Dept. of Human Services Telephone: (918) 588-1733 
Tulsa Sun Building  Fax: (918) 588-1757 
907 S. Detroit Ave., #750 E-mail: Linda.Foster@okdhs.org  
Tulsa, OK 74120 
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Central Standard Time. 
 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. 10.O.S.A. sec. 571-576 (1979 Supp.) 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. Violation of provisions regarding importation, exportation of 
children a misdemeanor, punishable in accordance with law. 10 O.S.A. sees., 37. (1971) Trafficking in 
children a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in county jail up to one year. Second offense a 
felony, imprisonment is State Penitentiary up to 2 years. 21 O.S.A. sec. 8.67 (1971). 
 
Age of Majority. 18 years. 10 O.S.A. sec. 91 (1979 Supp.) 
 
Court Jurisdiction. District Court: Deprived, in need of supervision jurisdiction retained until child 
becomes 18. For delinquent children, jurisdiction retained until 19. 10 O.S.A. sec. 1102 (1979 Supp.). 
District Court: Adoptions 10 O.S.A. sec. 60.4 (1971). 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
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A $250 fee will be required for all private ICPC adoption requests. This fee will be paid directly to 
Heritage Family Services, Inc. by the private agency or attorney at the time the packet is submitted 
for approval. 
 
 
 
A $400 fee will be paid for all public agency ICPC adoption requests. Oklahoma DHS will Pay the 
$400 fee for all public agency adoption requests whether Oklahoma is the sending or receiving state. 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Required from placement agency on a quarterly basis until child is 18 years of age or 
adoption is finalized; reports sent to ICPC office in triplicate. 10 O.S.A. sec. 33 (1971). Reports may 
be requested more frequently if desired. 
 
Licensing Requirements. Placement facility or home must be licensed by department. 10 O.S.A. 401 
(1971). 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Parent or guardian permitted to make placement date and 
intrastate. 10 O.S.A. secs. 32.33 (1971). 
 
Adoption Petition. Proceedings for adoption may be brought in the district court in the county 
where the petitioners or the child to be adopted reside. 10 O.S. Section 7502-1.2 (1997). The child to 
be adopted must be present in the State. 10 O.S.A. sec. 60.2 (1971). The time between interlocutory 
decree and final decree is six (6) months. 10 O.S.A. sec 60.15 (1971). Waiting period may be waived 
for relative or stepparent adoption, or the court finds the best interests of the child will be furthered. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placement Requiring Interstate Approval: All placements by agencies, courts, or 
parents from outside the state into residential facilities are subject to ICPC 
procedures. 
 
-Requirements for Placements: The facility must hold a valid license. In addition to 
the ICPC-100A, child summary and any other information as may be needed by the 
Administrator. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: The Department of Human Services, Licensing Unit, holds 
the responsibilities for the licensing of private child care institutions and child 
placing agencies. In addition, the Licensing Unit has the responsibility of inspecting 
and examining the methods and records of all organization or agencies which are 
formed for the purpose of placing children for adoption. If the agency is in 
compliance with the laws of the state, the Department will issue a license to this 
effect which will be effective for one (1) year from date of issue. The Department 
may revoke the license if agency fails the comply with the State laws. 
 
-Rate Setting Rates are negotiable between the private facility and the sending 
agency. 
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-Monitoring of the Child: Progress reports should be requested from the residential 
facility. If a problem exists, contact the state agency. 

 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placement must be made in 
approved and/or licensed facilities appropriate to the best interest of the child. 
Legal and financial responsibilities remain with the sending agency. ICPC 
procedures must be followed. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements Requirements. Foster homes are approved in accordance 
with agency standards. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
AFDC Payments. Made on behalf of a non-resident child who is placed in Oklahoma with relatives 
of the prescribed degree, provided the child does not have sufficient income from other sources. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Provided for children placed outside the state conditioned upon the provider 
filing a claim within the State of Oklahoma. This will be in effect as long as the child remains in the 
Department of Human Services custody and in the care of the specified relative. 
 
Foster Care Payments. If a foster home is to be used by an Oklahoma child, the family would be 
asked to sign a statement that they are willing to provide all financial needs of the child and the home 
would be considered a free foster home. Foster care rates may not be less than the going rate in 
Oklahoma for children placed within the state of Oklahoma by the sending state. Oklahoma can pay 
foster home payment of the receiving states’ rate if a foster home request is approved and the home 
meets the receiving state’s standard. 
 
Special Education Payments. Oklahoma does not pay for special education fees outside the state. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse HOTLINE. Calls are toll free in Oklahoma only. Telephone: 1-800-522-3511. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. James Eakins. Telephone: (405) 530-2862. 
 
Mental Health Compact Office. Ray King. Telephone: (405) 271-7474. 
 
Interstate Compact on Adoption and Medical Assistance (ICAMA). Margaret DeVault.  
Telephone: (405) 522-0331. 
 
 


