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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Paul Ronningen, Director    Deb Petry, Foster Care 
Children and Family Services Division   North Dakota ICPC 
ND Department of Human Services   Department of Human Services 
State Capitol-Judiciary Wing    State Capitol-Judicial Wing 
600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 325   600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 325 
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505    Bismarck, North Dakota 58505 
Telephone: (701) 328-1725   Telephone: (701) 328-3581 
E-mail: soronp@state.nd.us   Email: sopetd@state.nd.us 
 

Delores Friedt, Adoptions  
North Dakota ICPC  
Department of Human Services  
State Capitol-Judicial Wing  
600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 325  
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505  
Telephone: (701) 328-4152 
E-mail: sofrid@state.nd.us  

 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Central Time Zone.  
 
FAX: (701) 328-3538. 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. NDCC 14-13-01 to 14-13-08 (1971). 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. Misdemeanor, fine of $100 and imprisonment of 30 days. 
NDCC 50-11-10 (1974). Revocation of license. NDCC 50-11-06-3 (1974). Class C felony to make 
placement without license. NDCC 50-12-17 (1974). 
 
Age of Majority. 18 years. NDCC 14-10-01 (1973 SUPP.) NDCC 14-15-01 (1971). 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Juvenile Court: NDCC 27-20 (1974). District Court: NDCC 14-15.  
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly, unless specified otherwise on the ICPC referral. 
 
Licensing Requirements. Family foster care, group homes, and residential child care facilities licensed 
by North Dakota Department of Human Services. NDCC 50-11 (1993). Child placing agencies 
licensed by the North Dakota Department of Human Services. NDCC 50-12. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Unlawful. Placement shall be made by a child-placing agency 
licensed by the North Dakota Department of Human Services, except that a parent upon giving 
written notice to the North Dakota Department of Human Services may place his/her child in the 
home of an immediate relative. NDCC 14-10-05 and 50-12-17. Parents may name the adoptive 
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family for their child. Should the District Court find it in the best interest of the child after the 
relinquishment of parental rights, consents by all parties, and a home investigation filed with the 
Court, custody may be granted to the identified adoptive parents. NDCC 14-15-1. 
 
Identified Adoption Placements. Parents may name the adoptive family for their child. Should the 
District Court find it in the best interest of the child after the relinquishment of parental rights, 
consents by all parties, reports of agreements and disbursements, and a report of a licensed child 
placing agency filed with the Court, custody may be granted to the identified adoptive parents. 
NDCC 14-15.1. The report of the licensed child placing agency must include an adoptive family 
assessment (home study), medical and social history of the birth parent’s, the birth parent’s 
understanding and acceptance of the proceedings, and a medical and developmental history of the 
child. NDCC 14-15.1-04. 
 
Adoption Petition. Filed in district of adoptive family, legal custodian, child or agency. NDCC 14-15-
04 (1971). Six months minimum time between placement, and the filing of petition and final decree. 
NDCC 14-15-12 (1971). 
 
Adoption Referral Packet Requirements. Adoption referral packets must include ICPC 100A, 
adoptive family assessment (home study), social and medical history on both birth parents (or a 
statement as to why they are not available), medical information of the birth mother related to 
prenatal care, labor and delivery, medical and developmental information on the child, summary of 
counseling provided to the birth parent(s), legal documents (termination of parental rights, 
irrevocable consents/relinquishments) which addresses ALL birth parents, documentation as to how 
the Indian Child Welfare Act has been addressed and reports of agreements and disbursements. 
North Dakota DOES NOT recognize “legal risk” placements. Parental rights must be terminated 
prior to adoptive placement  or child must be placed with a family licensed to provide foster care. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placement Requiring Interstate Approval: All placements into residential facilities 
require interstate approval. 
 
-Requirements for Placements: Approved ICPC 100-A, Child Summary, including 
recent diagnostic assessment and that the proposed facility is licensed. Summary 
needs to be in sufficient detail to make a meaningful evaluation of resource being 
considered and must include medical, educational needs, and plan for child. A social 
history is required. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: Licensed by the North Dakota Department of Human 
Services. 
 
-Rate Setting: The North Dakota Department of Human Services sets a rate for 
foster care facilities. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child: Responsibility of the sending agency. 
 
-Philosophy for Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placements are to be 
appropriate to the needs of the individual youth placed. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements. Licensure/approval for foster homes is required. 
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PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments. Non-resident children placed with relatives in North Dakota may be eligible to 
receive TANF payments. 
 
Medicaid Payments. North Dakota IV-E eligible children are to receive Medicaid coverage in the 
state where they reside, in accordance with Federal (COBRA) amendments, as do eligible children 
from other states now residing in North Dakota foster care placements. The sending state remains 
responsible for all other payments. 
 
Foster Care Payments. When North Dakota is the receiving state, the sending agency must reimburse 
the foster home at a rate consistent with North Dakota’s foster care prevailing rate. When North 
Dakota is the sending state, the foster home must be reimbursed at the receiving state’s prevailing 
rate. 
 
Education Payments. Not provided for non-resident youth placed in North Dakota.  
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse. Telephone: (701) 328-4806, Gladys Cairns.  
 
Juvenile Compact Office. Division of Juvenile Services, (701) 667-1405.  
 
Mental Health Compact Office. Telephone: (701) 253-3850. 
 
Adoption Services. Telephone: (701) 328-4805; Julie Hoffman, (701) 328-4152; Delores Friedt.  
 
Adoption Subsidy. (701) 328-4805, Julie Hoffman. 
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