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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 

 
DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 

Sherry S. Bradsher, Director 
Division of Social Services 
NC Department of Social Services 
325 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27603 
Telephone: (919) 733-3055 
E-mail: Sherry.bradsher@ncmail.net 

Esther T. High, Team Leader 
Foster Care/Adoption Program Administrator 
NC Department of Social Services 
2409 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2409 
Telephone: (919)  733-9464 
E-mail: Esther.high@ncmail.net 

  
 
Address Correspondence and Telephone Calls To: 
 
Foster Care and Public Agency Adoptions Independent and International Adoptions 
Berta Hammerstein    Linda Wrightson 
Gail Moore     (919) 733-9465 
Brenda Robertson 
Charlene Timmons    Private Adoptions 
(919) 733-9464     Berta Hammerstein 
      (919) 733-9465  
     
Interstate Compact Adoption Medical Assistance (ICAMA) 
Berta Hammerstein 
(919) 733-9465 
 
Family Foster Home (Residential) 
Kevin Kelley 
(919) 733-7831 
 
ICPC Office Hours:  Monday–Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time Zone. 
 
Federal Express Mailing Address:  325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603 
 
FAX:  (919) 733-3052 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation.  N.C.G.S. 7B – 3800 through N.C.G.S. 7B – 3806. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV.  Violation of the laws North Carolina (see, e.g. Article 10 of 
Chapter 48 of NCGS) as well as the other involved states; punishable by laws of either or both states as 
well as suspension or revocation of any and all licenses, permits, or other legal authority to place or care 
for children. 
 
Age of Majority.  18 years. N.C.G.S. 7B – 3800, Art II (a); N.C.G.S. 7B – 3400. 
 
Court Jurisdiction.  Juvenile Division of District Court:  delinquency, undisciplined, abused, dependent, 
neglected children; termination of parental rights, emancipation.  Clerk of Superior Court: adoption 
proceedings.  District Court: divorce, alimony, custody, child support. 
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SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Custody Investigation.  Requests may be routed through the Compact Office or sent directly.  Some 
counties charge a fee for this non-mandated service. 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly reports are required unless otherwise specified or major change occurs. 
 
Licensing Requirements. License required for non-related families, child placing agencies and child care 
facilities.  N.C.G.S. 131D – 10.1 through N.C.G.S. 131D – 10.9. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements.  Lawful if made by parents. 
 
Adoption Petition.  Residency requirement for petitioner:  6 months; waived in step-parent and 
grandparent adoptions. Minimum time before final decree:  1 year from date of placement agency and 
independent; no time requirement in relative placements or where child over 12 years of age gives 
consent and lives with petitioners for 5 years.  Petition can be filed anytime after placement.  Court 
orders agency investigation in all adoption proceedings.  No money or compensation of any kind, or 
advertisement, for receiving a child.  Chapter 48 of the North Carolina General Statutes. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 
 -Placements Requiring Interstate Approval:  All residential placements require approval 
 with the exception of those facilities that are primarily educational or medical. 
 

-Requirements for Placements:  ICPC-100A, social summary, case financial plan, and other 
information as required by the Compact Administrator. 

 
 -Approval of Facilities:  The Department of Human Resources.  Licenses are generally 
 renewed annually. 
 
 -Rate Setting:  Rates are negotiated between the facility and the sending agency. 
 
 -Monitoring of the Child:  Responsibility rests with the sending agency and the residential 
 facility. 
 
 -Philosophy for Placements of Non-Resident Youth:  Placements are to be made into 
 approved licensed facilities and must be appropriate to the needs of the child. 
 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements.  Foster homes or facilities must meet receiving states 
standards for licensure/approval. 
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PAYMENTS 
 
AFDC Payments.  Payments are provided on behalf of non-resident youth if eligibility requirements are 
met. 
 
Medicaid Payments.  Same as above for non-resident youth placed with parents or relatives.  N.C. 
children who are not IV-E eligible, placed in foster care in other states, are eligible for N.C. Medicaid 
payments provided the vendor participates in the N.C. Medicaid program. 
 
Foster Care Payments on Behalf of Children in Out-of-state Placements.  The county’s rate of payments 
if flexible; however, state reimbursement cannot exceed maximum rates set by the Social Services 
Commission.  Payment cannot be made until verification is received signifying that the facility is 
licensed/approved. 
 
Foster Care Payments Required for Children Placed in N.C..  It is the policy of N.C. that any sending 
state is required to pay their own foster care board rate for children placed in N.C.. 
 
Special Education Payments.  Payments are provided at the option of the local school board. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse Registry.  Calls are not toll free.  (919) 733-7831. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office.  (919) 733-3388 ext. 285 and 265. 
  
Mental Health Compact Office.  (919) 733-3654. 
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