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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Mary-Dale Bolson Ph.D., Cabinet Secretary Jean E. Taylor   
Children, Youth and Families Department DCA NM ICPC 
P.O. Drawer 5160 (PERA Bldg.)   Children, Youth and Families Department 
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502-5160  P.O. Drawer 5160 
Telephone: (505) 827-7602   Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502-5160 
      Telephone: (505) 827-8457 
      Email: jetaylor@state.nm.us  
 
Address Correspondence and Telephone Calls to: Deputy Compact Administrator.  
 
Federal Express Address 
PERA Bldg., Rm. 226 
1120 Paseo de Peralta 
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501 
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 to 5:00 p.m., Mountain Standard Time Zone.  
 
FAX: (505) 827-8400 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. 32A-11-1 NMSA 78 Comp. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. It is a misdemeanor to operate as a child placement agency 
without a license. A child placed for care or adoption in violation of law is deemed a “neglected” 
child under the Children’s Code 32A-1-1. (4) NMSA 78 Comp.  
 
Age of Majority. 18 years. (28-6-1 NMSA 78 Comp.) 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Matters dealing with neglect and abuse, termination of parental rights, adoption 
and the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children are within the jurisdiction of the Children’s 
Court, a division of the District Court. (32A-1-1-NMSA 78 Comp.)  
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly report on child’s progress is required. 
 
Licensing Requirements: Child placement agencies are to be licensed by CYFD NMSA 78 Comp. 
Foster homes are also licensed by the Department. (9-8-13 NMSA 78 Comp.)  
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION  
 
Custody Investigation Requests: This service is not provided by the Department (CYFD) unless 
there is an indication of potential abuse, neglect or exploitation of the child in his current situation. 
In instance of alleged abuse or neglect, the matter will be referred to the County Protective Services 
Office. It will open a protective services case and investigate the home setting and care which the 
child is currently receiving. 

mailto:patassett@cyfd.state.nm.us
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PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements: Lawful. ICPC procedures must be followed by the parties 
involved. Consents or relinquishments are to be executed 48 hours after birth of child, taken in front 
of a Judge and contain information required by statute (Section 32A-5-21 et. seq., NMSA 1978 (the 
Act). Adoptive studies must be conducted 30 days prior to placement of child if placed by parents, 
and will be paid for by petitioners. Adoptive studies must be conducted by a licensed adoptive 
agency or, if it is an independent adoption, an individual with an MSW or equivalent degree certified 
by the Department. Written reports must be filed with the court and must address areas outlined in 
the Statute. An order allowing placement must be obtained by the petitioners’ attorney prior to 
placement for independent adoptive placements made into New Mexico. (32A-5-13 NMSA 1978.) 
 
Adoption Petition: Residency for at least six months required. Petition must be filed within sixty days 
of placement if child is under one year old, or within one hundred and twenty days if child is over 
one year old at time of placement. Final decree may be entered if ninety days have passed since the 
filing of the petition for adoption. 
 
Residential Placements: 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: ICPC approval required after 
acceptance by facility. 
 
-Requirements for Placements: Residential treatment center placements do require 
Compact approval, for which normal procedures are followed. Statement indicating 
why placement in a N.M. facility is in the child’s best interest. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: Department of Health, P.O. Box 968, Santa Fe, New 
Mexico 87503, Telephone: (505) 984-0020. 
 
-Rate Setting: Facilities set their own rates. Sending agencies must negotiate with the 
facility for each child. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child: Provisions are set for self-monitoring. Monthly progress 
reports are required. A six-month assessment is mandatory and justification for 
continued placement must be made and approved. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Currently there exists no 
written policies. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements: A license is required and home approved by CYFD prior 
to the placement, of any child into foster care. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments: Sending state is ultimately financially responsible for the child. TANF is provided 
for by New Mexico Human Services Department upon placement with a relative if need is 
established. 
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Medicaid Payments: As long as the State of New Mexico is legally responsible for the child, 
responsibility for Medicaid will belong to New Mexico. If child is IV-E eligible, receiving state will 
issue their Medicaid card. 
 
Foster Care Payments on Behalf of Children in Out-of-State Placements: Two conditions currently 
exist: (1) If a child moves out of state with his/her foster parent(s), payment will be based on New 
Mexico rates; (2) If out-of-state placement is made through the Interstate Compact, payment can be 
made at the receiving state’s rate (this requires approval before placement is granted). 
 
Special Education Payments: Child may attend public school programs and be entitled to special 
education. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse Inquiry: Inquiries may be made to the local county office or call statewide central intake 
at (800) 797-3260. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office: Interstate Placements Unit. Dale Dodd, (505) 827-8478.  
 
Mental Health Compact Office: Barbara Glenn, (505) 454-2441, P.O. Box, Las Vegas Medical 
Center, Las Vegas, New Mexico 87701, or (505) 827-2954. 
 
Adoptions and Medical Assistance Compact Office: Emily Garcia, (505) 827-8413. 
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