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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR   DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Chris Hanus-Schulenberg   Rita Krusemark 
Co-Administrator    ICPC Program 
Protection and Safety Division   Dept. of Health and Human Services 
Dept. of Health and Human Services  Protection and Safety Division 
Telephone: (402) 471-9308   P.O. Box 95044 
      Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5044 
      Telephone: (402) 471-9245 
 
Rebecca Hansen, Staff Assistant   Mary Dyer, Adoptions  
Telephone: (402) 471-9451   Telephone: (402) 471-9331 
 
Address Correspondence in Triplicate To:  Rita Krusemark - ICPC Program or 
      Mary Dyer - ICPC Program Adoptions, and 
      Inter-Country Adoptions 
 
Express Mail Address: Rita Krusemark/Mary Dyer 
   Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children 
   301 Centennial Mall South, 3rd Floor 

Lincoln, NE 68508 
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Central Time Zone. 
 
FAX: (402) 471-9034 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. N.R.S. Sec. 43-1101. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. Placing a child without license: agency subject to 30 days 
imprisonment and/or fine $50 to $200. N.RS. Sec. 43-709 (1968). Violation of licensing requirements 
a misdemeanor punishable by fine $50-$200 and/or imprisonment for 30 days. 
 
Age of Majority. 19 years. 
 
Court Jurisdiction. County Court or Juvenile Court have jurisdiction in adoption. N.RS. Sec. 24-517 
(1973 Supp.). District Court: Domestic relations. N.R.S. Sec. 42-301 (1968). County Court, District 
and Separate Juvenile Courts divided on basis of population: jurisdiction over children under 18 years 
of age who are dependent, neglected, and delinquent. N.R.S. Sec. 43-201 to 215 (1968).  
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly unless otherwise specified. 
 
Licensing: Requirements. Voluntary child care institutions, placing agencies and group homes 
licensed under N.R.S. Sec. 71-1901 through 1905. Foster Family homes evaluated and approved by 
the Department of Health and Human Services. Foster homes caring for two or more unrelated 
children licensed under Sec. 71.1901 through 1905 (1968). Nebraska is attempting to license all 
relative placements. 
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PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Parent or duly licensed agency may place child for adoption or 
otherwise. N.R.S. Sec. 43-701 (1968). 
 
Adoption Petition. Petition filed in county court in county of petitioner’s residence. N.RS. Section 
43-102 (1968). Child must live with adopting family six months before filing of petition and final 
decree of adoption. N.R.S. Sec. 43-109 (1968). 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: Placements into licensed residential 
facilities by parents, agencies, or courts. 
 
-Requirements for Placements: Facility must be licensed: ICPC-100A child 
summary, court order. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: Licensed biennially by the Department of Social Services, 
Division of Human Services, (402) 471-3305. 
 
-Rate Setting: Contract Margaret Bitz, Division of Human Services, Telephone: 
(402) 471-9457. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child: Reports provided by the care facility. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Must be appropriate to the 
needs of the child. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements. Foster homes caring for two or more unrelated children 
must be licensed in Nebraska. Out-of-state foster care homes must meet the receiving state’s law and 
requirements. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
Title IV-E Payments. If Title TV-E eligibility requirements are met, Title IV-E payments will be 
made. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Provided for Nebraska children placed with foster parents and relatives in other 
states. 
 
Foster Care Payments. Nebraska agencies are prohibited from making any payments on behalf of 
non-resident children placed with relatives in Nebraska when such children are in the custody of 
another state. However, the relative can apply for assistance under the TANF program. Nebraska’s 
foster care payment rate will be paid for Nebraska children placed in foster care out of state, 
 
Special Education Payments. Services available at cost to the sending state. 
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USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse HOTLINE. Calls from outside Nebraska are not toll free. Telephone Division of 
Human Services, (800) 652-1999. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. Probation, Judy Riddle, (402) 471-2855, Parole, Rita Krusemark, (402) 
471-9254. 
 
Mental Health Compact Office. Patricia Parker, (402) 471-2851. 
 


