
(Rev. Sept. 2005) 

MISSISSIPPI  STATE  PAGE 
 

 
COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATORS 
Rickie Felder     Patricia Hickman, Program Manager 
Director     ICPC 
Family and Children’s Services   Family and Children’s Services 
Department of Human Services   Telephone:  (601) 359-4986 
P.O. Box 352     Fax:  (601) 359-4288 
Jackson, Mississippi  39205   E-Mail:  PHickman@MDHS.State.MS.US 
Telephone:  (601) 359-4999 
RFelder@MDHS.State.MS.US  
  

Linda Walker, Social Worker Advanced 
Vacant, Program Specialist   Adoption/Searches 
 Foster Care, Residential and   Telephone:  (601) 359-4407 
 Relative Placements    Fax:  (601) 359-4226 
Telephone: (601) 359-4988 
 
Address Correspondence To:  Appropriate Deputy Compact Administrator, Department of Human 
Services, Division of Family & Children’s Services, P.O. Box 352, Jackson, Mississippi 39205. 
 
Federal Express Address:  Department of Human Services, Division of Family & Children’s Services,  
750 North State Street, Jackson, Mississippi 39202 
 
ICPC Office Hours:  Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Central Time Zone. 
 
 
GENERAL  INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation.  Chapter 428, Mississippi laws of 1976. 
 
Statutory Penalties. Under Article IV.  None in Mississippi. 
 
Age of Majority.  21 years.  M.C.A. sec 1-3-27 (1972). 
 
Court Jurisdiction.  Chancery Court:  adoption M.C.A. sec. 93-17-1 (1972), divorce M.C.A. sec. 93-5-7 
(1975 Supp.), termination of parental rights M.C.A. sec. 93-15-1 (1980).  Youth Court:  neglected, battered, 
or delinquent child M.C.A. 43-21-7 (1979).  Family Court:  neglected or delinquent M.C.A. 42-23-55 (1972).  
(Note:  The size of the county determines whether a Youth Court or a Family Court will be in existence.) 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports.  Quarterly, unless requested otherwise. 
 
Licensing Requirements.   The Mississippi State Department of Human Services has the statutory authority 
to license residential child caring facilities and child placing agencies.  M.C.A. 43-15-5 (1972). 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Custody Investigation, Divorce Cases and Other Non-Compact Matters.  Requests for investigations of any 
of the above should be sent through the ICPC Office.  A copy of the court order must accompany the 
request.  Requests are forwarded to the County DHS Offices for handling.  The County DHS office will 
provide information on payment procedures. 
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PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements.  Independent Adoptions are legal in Mississippi.  Homestudy with 
criminal record clearances and central child abuse registry checks included are to be conducted by licensed 
certified social workers, licensed child-placing agencies, or Mississippi Department of Human Services staff 
only.  It is unlawful for any child to be placed into Mississippi for purposes of adoption without consent of 
MDHS ICPC ADOPTION staff.  Before giving permission for such placements the following information 
is necessary, but not limited to:  1) Approved adoption homestudy, less than 1 year old; 2) medical/social/ 
genetic history of child and birth parents; 3) Surrenders of Parental Rights taken no sooner that 72 hours 
after the birth of the child, if taken in Mississippi; 4) 100A signed by mother, agency representative to 
whom mother has surrendered child, or intermediary designated as responsible party.  Faxed material 
must have prior approval. 
 
Adoption Petition.  Petitioner must have resided in the state for ninety (90) days proceeding the filing of 
the petition, unless the petitioner is related to the child within the third degree.  M.C.A. sec. 93-17-3 (1972).  
Minimum time between interlocutory decree and final decree is six months unless the petitioner is a step-
parent or related within the third degree.  The chancellor may also decide the waiting period is not 
necessary or can shorten the waiting period by the amount of time the child has resided in the home before 
the interlocutory decree.  M.C.A. sec. 93-17-13 (1972).  Parental consent to the adoption cannot be 
executed until three (3) days after the birth of the child.  M.C.A. sec. 93-17-5 (1972). 
 
Residential Placements.  Placements should be made according to ICPC procedures. 
 
Foster Care Placements Requirements.  Placements must be made in relative or non-relative homes which 
meet agency licensing standards. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments.  Mississippi does not make TANF Foster Care Payments out of state and makes TANF 
payments to grantee relatives only when the TANF family is out of the state for a temporary time, normally 
for not over three months. 
 
Medicaid Payments.  Mississippi shall pay Medicaid benefits for children placed out of state for which the 
Mississippi Department of Human Services holds legal responsibility. 
 
Foster Care Payments.  Mississippi board rates shall be paid for children placed out of state. 
 
Special Education Payments.  Local school boards administer special education funds in Mississippi.  
 
USEFUL  TELEPHONE  NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse HOTLINE.  Calls are toll free in Mississippi only.  Telephone: 1-800-222-8000.  Central 
registry on Child Abuse/Neglect, telephone Kendra Tripp at (601) 359-4649 or Pearl Holloway at (601) 
359-4483. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office.  Telephone:  Maxine Baggett at (601) 359-4971. 
 
Adoption Assistance Compact.  Telephone:  Bridget Powell at (601) 359-4996. 
 


