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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
James E. Beougher    Charles Gagnon 
Director     Social Services Program Specialist I 
Office of Child and Family Services  Office of Child and Family Services 
Department of Health and Human Services Department of Health and Human Services 
11 State House, Station    11 State House, Station  
Augusta, Maine 04333-0011   221 State Street 
Telephone: (207) 287-5060   Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 
      Telephone: (207) 287-5060 
      E-Mail: Charles.P.Gagnon@Maine.gov 
All Placements 
Interstate Placement Specialist 
 
Address Correspondence and Telephone Calls To:  Deputy Compact Administrator. 
 
ICPC Office Hours:  Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time Zone. 
 
FAX:  (207) 287-5282 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation.  22 M.R.S.A., Sec. 4191 to 4200. 
 
Statutory Penalties.  Fine of not less than $100 nor more than $5,000 or imprisonment for not more 
than 6 months.  22 M.R.S.A., Sec. 3800. 
 
Age of Majority.  18 years.  22 M.R.S.A., Secs. 3700, 4192. 
 
Court Jurisdiction. 
 

-Probate Court: Adoption; surrender and release for adoption of child still in 
custody of own parents.  Title 18-A, Article IX, Section 9-301. 
 
-District Court: Child protection orders, termination of parental rights, both 
voluntary and involuntary, when a child is committed to the Department. 22 
M.R.S.A., 4000 et seq. (1960) known as juvenile court when handling juvenile cases 
(15 M.R.S.A. Sec. 2551). 
 
-Concurrent Jurisdiction: Probate court and District court. Child protection orders. 
22 M.R.S.A. Sec. 4031 et seq. (1960). 

 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports.  Quarterly. 
 
Licensing Requirements.  Agencies or persons caring for or placing children under 18 years of age 
must be licensed.  22 M.R.S.A.; Sub Title 6, Chapters 1661 and 1663. 
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PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements.  Independent adoptions are legal, but must be  proceeded by a 
social  study of the adoptive family, child, and child’s bio-parents. Anyone  who advertises himself or 
holds himself out as finding homes for children for the purpose of adoptions  must be licensed. 22 
M.R.S.A., Chapter 1671, Sec. 8204. Advertisement must include  statement that any interstate 
adoption must be done in compliance with 22 M.R.S.A. Chapter 1153. 
 
Adoption Petition. Resident or non-resident may file petition in Probate Court of legal residence of 
adoptive parents, child, or placing agency. Title 18-A, Article IX, Sections 9-104 and Section 9-301. 
There is no specific requirement in Law for when an adoptive petition is filed in independent 
adoptions. However, a study by a licensed child placing agency is mandatory in all instances when the 
child is not related to the petitioner(s). The court may require that the child have lived in the home 
of the petitioners for one year before granting a decree of adoption.  If agency adoption, petition is 
filed after successful completion of probationary experience. Title 18-A, Article IX, Section 9-304. 
Jurisdiction to grant such adoption and change of name shall be in the County where the person to 
be adopted lives, or in the County where the petitioner resides or the petitioners reside, or in the 
County in which the placing agency having custody of the child is located. Title 18-A, Article IX, 
Section 9-104. 
 
Residential Placement. 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: All placements in Children's Residential 
Facilities. 
 
-Requirements for Placements:  ICPC-100A, letter of acceptance from the facility, 
and financial and medical plan. All placements must be in accord with provisions of 
the Compact. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: The Department of Human Services and Department of 
Education are responsible for licensing/and approval of children’s residential 
facilities.  The Department of Human Services also licenses mental health and 
substance abuse programs in children’s residential facilities.  
 
-Rate Setting: Rates for Maine children are negotiated jointly by the Departments of 
Behavioral and Development Service, Corrections, Education and Human Services. 
For non-resident children, rates negotiated between the placing agency and facility. 

 
-Monitoring of the Child:  Responsibility of the sending agency and the facility. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth:  Placements to be made in 
licensed facilities, appropriate to the needs of the children placed. Legal and 
financial responsibilities remain with the sending agencies. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements.  Licensure is required for each foster home caring for 
children under 18 years of age.  Approval for the placement of individual children is required. 
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PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments. Payments by Maine agencies are prohibited on behalf of children who are wards of 
sending state. 
 
Foster Care Payments. For Maine children placed in foster care in another state, Maine foster care 
rates will be paid. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Payments provided for Maine children placed with foster parents and relatives 
in other states.  Payments are based on Maine Medicaid rates. 
 
Special Education Payments. Payments provided for youth placed in Maine at the option of the 
boards of education. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse/Neglect Registry and Hotline.  24 hour phone coverage with on call child protective 
social workers statewide. In-state toll-free telephone:  (800) 452-1999. Out of state telephone non 
toll free: (207) 287-2983. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. Telephone: (207) 287-4340. 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Custody Investigation Reports. This service is not provided by the Department unless there is an 
indication of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the child in his current situation. In the instance of 
alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation, the matter will be referred to the Department of Human 
Services, Child Protective Intake. 
 


