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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR   DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Marketa Garner Gautreau, Assistant Secretary Leola McClinton 
Office of Community Services    Section Administrator (ICPC) 
Department of Social Services    Office of Community Service 
P.O. Box 3318      Department of Social Services 
333 Laurel Street, 70801     P.O. Box 3318 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821    Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821 
Telephone: (225) 342-4073   Telephone: (225) 342-4034 
 
Interstate Correspondents  
Linda Stephens, (225) 342-4032 (Independent adoptions, foster care cases with child last name 
beginning A-G). 
Rose Richard, (225) 342-8867 (Independent adoptions, foster care cases with child last name 
beginning H-P). 
Carolyn Hall, (225) 342-2669 (Independent adoptions foster care cases with child last name 
beginning Q-Z and adoption follow-ups with adoptive parents last name beginning Q-Z). 
Leola McClinton, (225) 342-4034 (Public & independent adoptions). 
 
ICPC Unit Number: (225) 342-9923, 2929. 
 
Address Correspondence To: Leola McClinton, Deputy Compact Administrator. 
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Central Time Zone. 
 
Federal Express and overnight delivery services address: Office of Community Services, 333 Laurel 
Street, Suite 840, Baton Rouge, LA 70801 
 
FAX: (225) 342-0965. 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. 24 LSA-RS 46:1700 et seq. (1975 Supp.). 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. Suspension of license to place children. Agency operating 
without license guilty of misdemeanor - fine $25 - $200. 24 LSA-RS 46:1406 (1975 Supp.) . 
 
Age of Majority.  18 years - Article 37, Civil Code Revised, 1970 edition. 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Juvenile Court: runaway, truant, delinquent, abandoned, neglected children. 
6 LSA-RS 13:1570 (1975 Supp.). Concurrent jurisdiction for adoption between Juvenile Court and 
District Court in parish not having Juvenile Court. 3 LSA-RS 9:421 (1965). 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Divorce Custody/Visitation Cases. In accordance with LA R.S. 9:331-332, our department no longer 
completes court ordered home studies for civil court contested custody and visitation cases. In a 
custody or visitation preceding the court may order an evaluation by a mental health professional 
selected by the parties or by the court. We recommend to out-of-state courts that the court or family 
member residing in Louisiana (for whom the investigation is requested) contact the Louisiana Board 



(Rev. May 2004) 

LOUISIANA STATE PAGE 
 

 
of Social Work Examiners at (225) 756-3470 for a listing of mental health professionals licensed to 
perform custody investigations.  (www.labswe.org). Please be advised that the person being 
investigated, or other involved party must pay for the investigation. 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly reports are required unless otherwise specified for placements with foster families 
or relatives. Child placement agencies are to supervise foster home placements. After the 
interlocutory decree, no less than two visits shall be made, one of which shall occur within thirty days 
before the final decree. 
 
Licensing Requirements. License required only for child placing, child caring, maternity and day care 
centers that accept state or federal funds. Otherwise no license required. 24 LSA-RS 46:1403 (1975 
Supp.). 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. No statutory limitations on who may place a child. A surrender 
in Louisiana is valid only if the birth parents or the adoptive parents are domiciliary of Louisiana. All 
adoption petitions are investigated by DSS. 3 LSA-RS 9:427. DSS is not required to contact a parent 
who has surrendered in accordance with 3 LAS-RS 9:427.3 through 9:422.12 (Voluntary Surrender of 
Custody of a Child for Private Adoption). A curator is appointed to represent a parent who has not 
surrendered according to 9:422.3 through 9:422.13 and who is not domiciled in the state or who 
cannot be served in the state. In Louisiana, legal fathers or fathers who have formally acknowledged 
or legitimated the child whether or not they are biological fathers or are named on the birth 
certificate must be contacted for their consent to the adoption if they have not previously signed a 
valid surrender. 
 
According to the provision of RS 9:422, a father indicated on the certified copy of the birth 
certificate must join the mother in signing the voluntary surrender. Should the indicated parent(s) be 
under the age of eighteen at the time of the surrender, their parent(s) or guardian must also sign the 
Act of Surrender for private adoption. The surrender shall not be signed earlier than the fifth day 
following the date of the birth of the child (RS 9:427.7) and shall contain certain information 
prescribed by RS 9:422.6. The formal act in effect grants legal custody of the child to the adoptive 
parents named or represented in the act and grants irrevocable consent (RS 9:428.8) unless the 
surrendering parent(s) present a written declaration of revocation within thirty days after executing 
the formal act of surrender as provided in RS 9:422.10. A non-indicated father may oppose the 
adoption only by proof of the legal and formal acknowledgment or legitimization of the child prior 
to the entering of a decree of adoption. The withdrawal of consent of either or both parents who 
both executed the formal act of surrender shall not bar a final or interlocutory decree of adoption if 
the decree is in the best interest of the child. (RS 9:422.11). Any person who executes an act of 
surrender shall execute therewith a written statement of family history according to the provision of 
RS 9:422.13. 
 
The state requires a home study be completed prior to the placement. Where a licensed private 
agency is not available or affordable, Louisiana Adoption Petitions staff shall also provide home 
study and supervisory services to assist families in interstate independent adoption placements in 
compliance with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children as requested by the Interstate 
Compact Administrator in State Office. The following is needed for adoptive placements into 
Louisiana: 1) surrender (according to LA adoption statutes if adoption is to be finalized in LA) 2) 

http://www.labswe.org/
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home study of adoptive parents 3) social/genetic background information on birth parents 4) 
medical data on adoptive child 5) letter verifying supervising agency is aware of placement 6) 
disclosure of fees. 
 
Agency Adoptive Placements. Agency shall include DHHR, the corresponding department of any 
other state, and those private agencies or institutions licensed to place children for adoption by 
DHHR or by the corresponding department of another state. 3 LSA-RS 9:421. 
 
Adoption Petition. Petition to be filed in the domicile of the petitioner, parent or legal guardian. 3 
LSA-RS 9:423. In agency placements, a final decree may be granted at the first hearing when the 
child has been in the home of the petitioner for at least six months prior to filing. 3 LSA-RS 9:432. In 
independent placements, a two petition process is required. Where the surrender was taken according 
to 3 LSA-RS 9:422.3 through 9:422.12, the petitioners may file for an interlocutory decree 
immediately after placement and a final decree six months later whereas in other independent 
placements, the child must have lived for a year with the petitioners, and six months elapsed from 
the interlocutory decree before filing for the final decree. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placement Requiring Interstate Approval: All residential placements require 
interstate approval with the exception of those into educational schools or summer 
camps. 
 
-Requirements for Placements: Appropriate notification as prescribed by the 
Interstate Compact rules and regulations. If agency is to fund, facility must be 
licensed or certified to meet the specific needs of the child on whose behalf the 
request is made. 
 
-Approval of Facilities: The Division of Licensing and Certification is responsible 
for licensing and/or certifying all facilities for residential placements. Contact John 
Futrell, Division of Licensing and Certification at (225) 342-5776. 
 
-Rate Setting: DSS Audit Section establishes an annual rate based on audited costs 
submitted by private residential facilities. Educational facilities set their own rates. 
Direct contact and negotiation with that facility is required. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child: Responsibility rests with the sending agency and 
residential facility. The Interstate Office will assist as needed. 
 
-Philosophy of Placement of Non-Resident Youth: If federally funded, placements 
should be made in approved and/or licensed facilities appropriate to the needs of 
children placed. Legal and financial responsibilities remain with the sending agency. 
 
-Foster Care Placement Requirements: Foster care homes are approved in 
accordance with agency standards. Children placed from Louisiana outside the state 
are to be in homes which meet the licensure, approval or certification requirements 
of the receiving state. 
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PAYMENTS 
 
AFDC Payments. Made on behalf of non-resident children placed with relatives in Louisiana. 
Foster Care Payments. Louisiana board rates shall be paid for children placed out of state. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Provided for Louisiana children placed with foster parents and relatives 
(excluding natural parents) in other states until agency custody is terminated. 
 
Special Education Payments. Provided for non-resident youth placed in Louisiana depending on the 
locality of residence. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Interstate Compact on Adoption and Medical Assistance ICAMA)/adoption Subsidy). Ms. Genita 
Hunter, Office of Community Services, P.O. Box 3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, (225) 342-2844. 
 
Interstate Compact on Mental Health. Mental Health Coordinator, Sally Towns, (225) 342-2546; 
Office of Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) Coordinator, Judy Baker (225) 342-
5717. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. Sarah LeBlanc, Compact Administrator, (225) 342-5795; Beth Meng, 
Deputy Compact Administrator, (225) 342-5536; Fax: (225) 219-9349; Office of Juvenile Services, 
Telephone: (225) 342-2644. 
 


