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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Kevin W. Concannon, Director   Sarah Jane Stark 
Iowa Department of Human Services  Division of Behavioral, Development & Protective 
Hoover State Office Building      Services for Families, Adults & Children 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114   Interstate Unit 
Telephone: (515) 281-5452   Hoover State Office Bldg. 
      Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114 
      Telephone:  (515) 281-5730 
Federal Express 
1305 E. Walnut 
 
Secretary:  (515) 281-3123 
 
Address Correspondence To:  Deputy Compact Administrator. 
 
ICPC Office Hours:  Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Central Time Zone 
 
FAX:  (515) 242-6036 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation.  Code of Iowa, 232.158. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV.  Every person who violates any of the provisions of this Chapter or 
who intentionally makes any false statements or reports to the state director with reference to the matters 
contained herein, shall be guilty of fraudulent practice.  Section 232.167, Code of Iowa. 
 
Age of Majority.  18 years. Code of Iowa, Section 232.2. 
 
Court Jurisdiction.  District Court:  domestic relations, Code of Iowa, Section 598.2; adoptions, Chapter 
600;Term. of Parental Rights, Chapter 600A. Juvenile Court:  termination of parental rights, children in 
need of assistance, families in need of assistance, children having committed a delinquent act, Chapter 232, 
Code of Iowa.  Uniform Child Custody and Jurisdictional Act (Code of Iowa 598 A). 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Referral Procedure.  All interstate request, replies, reports and placement inquires must be sent to the 
Interstate Unit for placement approval prior to placement.  NO ICPC REFERRALS SENT DIRECTLY 
TO LOCAL OFFICES WILL BE ACCEPTED. 
 
PROTECTIVE SERVICES REFERRALS NOT INVOLVING PLACEMENTS ARE SENT TO THE 
LOCAL COUNTY OR IN CASE OF EMERGENCY, CHILD ABUSE REGISTRY  
(515) 281-5581, HOOVER STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 5TH FLOOR, DES MOINES, IOWA 50319. 
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REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports.  Required on arrival and quarterly thereafter or otherwise as indicated on the ICPC-100A.  
Preplacement investigation prior to placement, and post placement reports are required for all adoptive 
placements. 
 
Licensing Requirements.  All placements must be in a licensed facility or foster home licensed by the 
Department of Human Services.  I.C.A. Section 237.4.  Child placing agencies must be licensed.  I.C.A. 
Section 238.5.  Placement may not be made into any home that has not been approved by an agency or 
person licensed or certified to practice in Iowa.  All licenses and adoptive home approvals are valid for one 
year after the license is issued or the adoptive home approved.  All adoptive pre- placement studies must 
include criminal and child abuse checks before they can be approved. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements.  Lawful.  A preplacement investigation and report must be completed 
by a licensed child placement agency or certified adoption investigator and approved prior to placement of 
a child for adoption.  Section 600.8(2) (a).  Nothing of value may be accepted or given beyond a reasonable 
fee for services.  No Adoptive placements made into or out of Iowa can be approved until the child is 
made legally available for adoption.  It is required that birth parents be offered a minimum of 3 hours of 
counseling.  The Department is required to refer any placement or proposed placement which may require 
enforcement measures to the offices of the Attorney General. 
 
Adoption Petition.  Petition filed in the court of the county in which the guardian of a minor person to be 
adopted or the petitioner is domiciled or resides.  Section 600.3(1), 1979 Code of Iowa.  Petition may not 
be filed until parental rights are terminated unless petitioner is a step-parent whose spouse is a parent of 
child to be adopted.  Section 600.3(2).  The child must have lived in the petitioner's home for 180 days 
before final decree, although court can waive for step-parent or relative within fourth degree.  Section 
600.10.  Before adoption hearing, petitioner must file an accounting of all disbursements in connection 
with adoption.  Section 600.9. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval:  All placements into Iowa facilities that 
are licensed as child placing or child caring facilities must be placed according to 
ICPC procedures.  (Code of Iowa 232.158).  All placements out of Iowa into 
comparable facilities must be referred to the Interstate Unit. IAC 441-142.5 (238). 
 
-Requirements for Placements: There is no exception to the ICPC information 
required in all Interstate placements. 

 
-Approval of Facilities:  Program responsibility for licensing of facilities and foster 
homes is with Iowa Department of Human Services. 
 
-Rate Setting:  Foster home rates are set by Iowa Department of Human Services 
for Department homes.  Private agencies determine their own per diem rate for 
foster homes and facilities.  However, the Department sets maximum rate of care 
for Iowa children through a P.O. S. with each facility. 
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-Monitoring of the Child: Placement into facilities in Iowa are the responsibility of 
the sending agency. Placement of Iowa children into out-of-state facilities is the 
responsibility of the sending agency.  Supervision of foster home placements are 
usually done by the Iowa Department of Human Services unless there are other 
approved arrangements prior to placement. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Approval of the placement 
will usually be given if the Iowa facility is licensed and the facility determines the 
youth is appropriate for their program. The responsibility for the treatment rests 
with the facility. However, the Department will intervene at any time there appears 
to be conflict with the licensing statutes and the Interstate Unit will intervene on 
request of the sending state if conflicts arise.  Youths cannot be placed in any 
unlicensed facilities. 
 

Requirements for Foster Care Placements. All homes caring for non-related children must have a current 
Iowa foster home license.  Foster parents moving to Iowa with a foster child must apply for a foster home 
license within 30 days of arrival in the state. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments.  Sending state required to pay unless child is placed with an eligible parent or relative. 
 
Medicaid Payments.  Paid by the sending state unless child is placed with parent or the child is IV-E 
eligible. 
 
Foster Care Payments.  Out-of-state rate. A monthly payment for care in a foster family home licensed or 
approved in another state shall be made to the foster family based on the rate schedule in effect in Iowa, 
except that the regional administrator or designee may authorize a payment to the foster family at the rate 
in effect in the other state if the child’s family lives in that state and the goal is to reunite the child with the 
family. 
 
Education Payments.  Determined by the school district in which youth resides.  School districts do not 
require tuition unless the child is weighted Special Education and none require it when youth is placed with 
a parent.  The sending agency should investigate prior to placement and if tuition is required it is the 
sending agency's responsibility to meet this need. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse Hotline/Registry.  1-800-362-2178. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office.  (515) 281-5730. 
 
Mental Health Compact Office.  (515) 242-6510. 
 
ICAMA:  Compact Administrator, Charlcie Carey, (515) 281-5358. 


	COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR		DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR
	
	Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114			Interstate Unit



