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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY ICAMA ADMINISTRATOR 
Larry Chasey, Administrator   Larry Chasey 
Department of Children & Family Services Department of Children & Family Services 
406 East Monroe St. - M.S. #50   406 East Monroe St. - M.S. #50 
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1498   Springfield, Illinois 62701-1498  
Telephone:  (217) 785-2680   Telephone: (217) 785-2680  
E-Mail:  LChasey@idcfs.state.il.us  E-Mail:  LChasey@idcfs.state.il.us 
 
Placement Coordinators 
 
Statewide Private Public Adoptive Placements Parental, Relative and Foster  
Mary Donley-Howard (Except Cook City Public) Placements (except Cook County)  
Telephone:  (217) 785-2692   Tom Brinton 
E-Mail:  MDonley@idcfs.state.il.us  Telephone: (217) 785-5489 
      E-Mail:  TBrinton@idcfs.state.il.us  
  
Parental, Relative, Foster Care Placements  Intercountry Adoption Placements 
& Public Adoptions (Chicago, Cook County) Mary Donley-Howard 
Brad Boucher     Telephone:  (217) 785-2692  
Telephone: (217) 785-2596   E-Mail:  MDonley@idcfs.state.il.us 
E-Mail:  BBoucher@idcfs.state.il.us   
 
Residential        
Tom Brinton     Priority & Fed Ex Mail: Use Above Address  
Telephone:  (217) 785-5489     
E-Mail:  TBrinton@idcfs.state.il.us 
 
Direct correspondence and/or telephone calls to appropriate Placement Coordinator. 
 
Address for UPS Mail Only:   Department of Children & Family Services 
    Interstate Compact Unit – M.S. #50 
    410 South 11th Street 
    Springfield, Illinois 62703 
 
ICPC Office Hours:  Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Central Time Zone. 
 
FAX: (217) 785-2459  Mail Line :  (217) 785-2680 
 
 
GENERAL  INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation.  Chapter 45, Illinois Compiled Statutes, Section 15/1. 
 
Statutory Penalties.  Violation is a Class “A” misdemeanor; imprisonment for up to one year, fine 
not to exceed $1,000.  (Chapter 45, Illinois Compiled Statutes). 
 
Age of Majority.  18 years.  Pursuant to Juvenile Court Act, jurisdiction extends to age 21 for minors 
adjudicated prior to 18th birthday.  (705 ILCS 405/2-31). 
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Court Jurisdiction.  Juvenile Court:  Delinquent, Neglected, Dependent and Minors Requiring 
Authoritative Intervention; Termination of Parental Rights (705 ILCS 405/2-29).   
 
Circuit Court:  Adoption, Termination of Parental Rights and Domestic Relations (705 ILCS 
50/15.1). 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Divorce Custody Investigations.  An Illinois private agency should be requested to complete 
investigation; contact directly.  The Illinois DCFS does not handle custody investigations. 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports.  Once a month the first three months; quarterly thereafter.  Child Welfare Agency 
Standards (Rule 401.206). 
 
Licensing Requirements.  The following must be licensed in accord with Illinois DCFS policy:  
Foster homes, adoptive homes, and relative homes, day and night care facilities, day care centers, 
child welfare agencies and child welfare institutions.  Only agencies licensed by Illinois may provide 
child welfare services in Illinois. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements.  Lawful if made by an Illinois court appointed guardian or by a 
parent with an Illinois judicial consent and parental rights not terminated. 
 
Adoption Petition.  To be filed within 30 days after placement except for a related child or adult.  
Residency Requirements:  Six months, except for the adoption of a related child or a child placed by 
an agency.  Pendency of Petition:  Six months required between the filing of a petition to adopt and 
the finalization, except in cases of the adoption of a relative, an adult or agency consent.  (750 ILCS). 
Visits by case workers – Every 12 months. 
 
Residential Placements. 

 
-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval:  ICPC authorization required for any 
facility requiring licensure by the Illinois DCFS as a child care institution, regardless 
of placing party. 
 
-Requirements for Placements:  ICPC-100A & complete child data information 
(including psychological assessment, if available) is required. 
 
-Approval of Facilities:  Deputy Administrator is responsible for verifying license 
status of specific facility; facilities are recommended for licensure or re-licensure by 
regionally based licensing specialists; licensure is for two or four years; ICPC 
authorization is based on recommendation of regional staff familiar with the facility. 
 
-Rate Setting: The DCFS negotiates a contract with each facility utilized by the 
Department; rates set by the Contracts Unit; each State is responsible for  
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negotiating a rate and signing a contract with the facility. Information on Illinois 
rates is available upon request. 

 
-Monitoring of the Child:  Placement will be monitored by regional Department 
staff if requested by sending party. If not specifically requested, placing party should 
request reports directly from facility. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth:  No restrictions other than 
requiring that ICPC continue in effect for the duration of placement. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements.  Foster homes must be licensed; no ICPC approval will 
be given until licensure is confirmed.  Licensure requires an FBI & IBI criminal background check 
which takes approximately four to six weeks to clear. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF/Medicaid Payments.  Illinois will provide TANF (Temporary Aid to Needy Families) to 
children residing in Illinois with eligible relatives, regardless of guardianship status or state in which 
guardianship is held, provided the family is not receiving assistance from another source. 
 
Medicaid Payments.  Children eligible for Medicaid in Illinois are also eligible to receive Illinois 
medical coverage when placed in other states.  The vendor, however, must be certified by the Illinois 
Department of Public Aid in order to receive reimbursement for services.  If medical payment is not 
accepted by the vendor, wards of the DCFS are eligible for coverage through that Department rather 
than the Department of Public Aid. 
 
Foster Care Payments.  Illinois foster care rates are paid directly to the caretaker. 
 
Special Education Payments.  Local school district reimbursement is individually determined based 
on the circumstances of the placement.  Please contact the Interstate Office concerning questions. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse/Protective Services.  All referrals for protective service investigations should be 
directed to:  State Central Register, DCFS, 406 East Monroe Street, Springfield, Illinois 62701-1498, 
telephone: (217) 785-4020. 
 
24-Hour Child Abuse Hotline/State Central Register.  (800) 252-2873--Toll Free in Illinois only.  To 
contact State Central Register from outside Illinois, telephone: (217) 785-4020. 
 
Mental Health Compact Office.  Lonnis Jordan, Administrator, Telephone (312) 814-4909. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office/Nonward Runaway Services. Carol Chrans, Deputy Administrator, 
Telephone: (815) 730-7684. 
 
Juvenile Probation Cases. Judy Nystrom, 816 S. College, Springfield, IL 62704, Telephone: (217) 
524-4152. 
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