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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Mary Ball Morton, Service Administrator   Rose Marie Holmquist 
Office of Case Management    Program Support Administrator 
Department of Services for Children,   Department of Services for Children, 
Youth, and Their Families    Youth, and Their Families 
DE Youth and Family Center    DE Youth and Family Center 
1825 Faulkland Rd., 2nd Floor    1825 Faulkland Rd., 2nd Floor 
Wilmington, DE 19805     Wilmington, DE 19805 
Telephone: (302) 633-2676   Telephone: (302) 633-2698 
Mary.Morton@state.de.us   
 
Address Correspondence and Telephone Calls To: Deputy Compact Administrator.  
 
ICPC Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time Zone.  
 
FAX: (302) 633-2517. 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. D.C.A. 31, Section 381, adopted in 1974. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. Yes. First violation entails a fine of not more than $100. 
Continued violations not less than $100 or more than $1,000.  
 
Age of Majority. Age 18. Title 1, Section 701. 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Family Court-Adoptions. Title 13, Section 902 as amended. Family Court-All 
other matters. Title 10, Section 921. 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Custody Investigations. Divorce Cases and Those Unrelated to ICPC. Requests for evaluations of 
parents in divorce cases should be sent directly to the local county Child Protective Service agency 
(see addresses below). If the County is unknown, the request may be sent, in duplicate, to the 
Interstate Office for forwarding to the local agency. 
 
COUNTY CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICE AGENCIES: 
 
New Castle County   New Castle County  Kent County 
University Plaza, Cambridge Bldg.  Elwyn Institute   821 Silver Lake Blvd. 
263 Chapman Road    321 E. 11th Street, Suite 300  Barratt Bldg., Suite 200 
Newark, DE 19702    Wilmington, DE 19801  Dover, DE 19901 
County Director: Carla Benson-Green County Director: Shirley Roberts County Director: Ione Truesdale 
Phone: (302)451-2800  Phone: (302) 577-3824  Phone: (302) 739-4800 
 
Sussex County  
Georgetown State Service Center  
546 S. Bedford Street  
Georgetown, DE 19947  
County Director: Van Warrington  
Phone: (302) 856-5450 
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All requests involving parties other than parents must be sent through the ICPC office, along with 
the court order. The Division of Child Protective Services will charge a fee for this service. Please 
contact the local county agency for fee information. 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Required on arrival and quarterly thereafter or otherwise as indicated on the ICPC1-100A. 
Preplacement and postplacement reports are required for all adoptive placements. 
 
Licensing Requirements. Licensed by Division of Family Services or permission. Title 31, Section 
351. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Not Lawful. Delaware Code, Title 31, Section 351. See also 
Section 306. 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval. All interstate (other than those for 
purely educational needs of the child) must be approved by the Compact 
Administrator. 
 
-Approval of Facilities. Responsibility for annual licensing of residential programs 
rests with the Delaware Division of Family Services. For current information, 
contact the Compact Administrator. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child. The sending agency is responsible for monitoring children 
placed in residential facilities in Delaware. 

 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth. Approval requires that such 
residential placement be in the best interest of the child and adherence to Interstate 
Compact procedures. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements. Foster homes are approved in accordance with agency 
standards. Children placed from Delaware outside the state are to be in homes which meet the 
licensure, approval, or certification requirements of the receiving states. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments. Provided by Delaware agencies on behalf of non-resident children placed with 
relative in Delaware. 
 
Special Education Payments. Provided for non-resident youth placed in Delaware when the sending 
state reciprocates by providing such services as needed by children placed from Delaware; otherwise, 
the sending agency is financially responsible for the provision of special education services. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
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Child Abuse Report Line. Calls from outside Delaware are not toll free. Telephone: (302) 577-6550. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. Telephone: (302) 633-2698. 
 
ICAMA Office. Telephone (302) 633-2698. 
 
Mixing Delinquent and Dependent Children Office.  Gay Falkowski, Telephone (302) 633-2575. 
 


