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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR  DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR 
Darlene Dunbar, MSW, Commissioner  Sandra Matlack 
Department of Children and Families  Office of Foster and Adoption Services 
505 Hudson Street    Department of Children and Families 
Hartford, CT 06106    505 Hudson Street, 10th Floor 
Telephone: (860) 550-6300   Hartford, CT 06106 
      Telephone: (860) 550-6392     
Staff and Telephones 
 
All Private Agency Adoptions +   

E, F, G,     Barbara Burford   (860) 550-6382 

(All Residential Care except MA & RI) Patricia Burt   (860) 550-6328 

M, N, O, P, Q, R   Jacquelyne Davis  (860) 550-6580 

S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z   Blanche Hudson   (860) 550-6319 

A, B, C, D, K, L, Mc   Basiliza Fernandez  (860) 550-6333 

H, I, J + MA & RI Residential  Roberta Dumais   (860) 550-6469 

Secretary    Linda Hastings   (860) 550-6469 

Address Correspondence To:  Interstate Compacts Office. 

ICPC Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time Zone. 

Fax: (860) 566-6726 

______________________________________________________________________________  
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. C.G.S 17a-175 thru 182, adopted in 1967.  
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article IV. None.  
 
Age of Majority. 18 years. 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Probate Court: Adoptions, termination’s of parental rights, guardianship. Superior 
Court-Juvenile Matters: neglected, dependent, delinquent, defective, and mentally ill children, 
termination of parental rights. Superior Court-Family Matters: divorce, support, custody. 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION  
 
Divorce Custody Investigations Not Related to ICPC: Requests for these investigations are sent to: 
Stephen Grant, Deputy Director, Family Services, Judicial Branch, 936 Silas Deane Hwy, 
Wethersfield, CT 06109, (860) 721-2105. 
 
Custody Investigations Not Related to Divorce: This service is provided by the Connecticut 
Department of Children and Families with a completed ICPC-100A signed by the sending court. 
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These requests must be routed to CT-ICPC by the sending state’s ICPC Office with two copies of 
pertinent background information and court documents requesting the custody investigation.  
For custody investigation requests not made through the ICPC process, a listing of licensed 
Connecticut child placing agencies can be obtained from the CT-ICPC Office. 
 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Semiannual C.G.S. 17a-15. 
 
Licensing: Requirements. License required for non-related and related person(s), child caring 
facilities, and child placing agencies. Out-of-state child placing agencies have to be approved by 
Connecticut. C.G.S. 17a-114, 7a-115, 17a-145, 17a-149, 17a-152 for placement into Connecticut. 
License not required of public agencies, C.G.S. 17-816. Relative licensing required for placement with 
relatives (C.G.S. 17a-114) eff. 7/01. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Unlawful. C.G.S. 17a-145, 17a-150, 17a-152. Only child placing 
agencies licensed or approved by Connecticut can place non-related child for purpose of adoption. 
Connecticut permits licensed or approved agencies to participate in Identified Adoptions (C.G.S. 
45a-728). A copy of the Connecticut Guide for Identified Adoption can be obtained from the 
Connecticut ICPC office. 
 
C.G.S. 45a-726, sections 445A-727(a)(1) to 45a-727(a)(5). Adopted 6/19/86. Penalty C.G.S. 45a729. 
Maximum $5,000/or imprisonment of 1-5 years for any person who is fined for violation of 
Connecticut adoption statutes Sec. 45a-727, 45a-728, or 45a-764. 
 
Adoption Petition. Petition is filed with Probate Court covering area where family resides or where 
any office of the statutory parent is located. C.G.S. 45a-727(a)(4). Court termination of parental 
rights required for child placed from within the United States, its territories, or the Commonwealth 
of Puerto Rico. Legal termination required for child placed from outside United States C.G.S, 45a-
725. 
 
Residential Placements. Placements into children’s residential care facilities require prior 
approval. C.G.S. 17a-152, 17a-175, 17a-181. 
 

-Placements Requiring: Interstate Approval. All placements governed by the ICPC 
C.G.S. 17a-175, ICJ C.G.S. 46b-151, ICMH C.G.S. 17a-615, and C.G.S. 17a-152, 
require notice and approval by the Department of Children and Families with the 
Connecticut Department of Education. Also excluded are summer camps. 
 
-Requirements for Placements. Appropriate notification as prescribed by the ICPC’s 
rules and regulations C.G.S. 17a-152 and 17a-175. Facilities must be licensed or 
certified. A $1,000 Surety Bond may be required of all senders except public 
agencies prior to placement. Penalties C.G.S. 17a-153. 
 
-Approval of Facilities. The Department of Children and Families, Mental 
Retardation, Education, and Public Health are involved in licensing and/or 
certifying residential programs for youths under 18 years of age. Contact the ICPC 
office or individual departments: 
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Department of Children and Families, Licensing Office: (860) 550-6445 
Department of Mental Retardation: (860) 418-6000 
Department of Education: (860) 566-5497 
Department of Public Health: (860) 509-8000 
 
-Rate Setting. Each of the above named departments is involved with rates or can 
furnish the information. Each educational facility sets its own rates. Direct contact 
and negotiating with the facility is required. 
 
-Monitoring of the Child(ren). Responsibility rests with the sending agency and the 
residential facility. The ICPC office can/will assist. 
 
-Philosophy for Placement on Non-Resident Youth. Placements are to be made in 
approved and/or licensed facilities appropriate to the needs of the child(ren) placed. 
Legal and financial responsibility remains with the sending agency. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements for Incoming Requests. All non-relative families have to 
be licensed. All relative homes must go through a licensing process and be licensed. C.G.S. 17a-114. 
All outgoing placement requests require licensing of the placement resource. 
 
Requirements for Subsidized Guardianship with Relatives. C.G.S. 17a-126, child must be in DCF 
custody for 12 months and in same relative care for 12 months. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments. By the Connecticut Department of Social Services are prohibited on behalf of a 
child(ren) temporarily placed with relatives within the state. A child is eligible if in the custody of 
another state, per Connecticut DSS policy, when the plan for the child is permanent placement in 
Connecticut with a parent or relative. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Provided for a Connecticut child(ren) placed with foster parents and relatives 
(excluding natural parents) in other states provided they are not IV-E eligible. 
 
Foster Care Payments. Made in accordance with Connecticut foster care rates and agency policy. 
 
Special Education Payments. Not provided for non-resident youth(s) placed in Connecticut. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS: 
 
Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline. Calls from within and outside Connecticut are toll free at 

 (800) 842-2288. 

Interstate Compact on Juveniles. (860) 550-6469. 

Interstate Compact on Mental Health. (860) 550-6469. 
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