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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR    ICPC Specialists 
Dr. Page Walley, Commissioner       
Alabama Department of Human Resources  Foster Care   Caseload 
S. Gordon Persons Building, 2nd Floor   Cathryn Crawford      A-L 
50 Ripley Street      (334) 242-1468 
Montgomery, AL  36130-1001    ccrawford@dhr.state.al.us  
Telephone (334) 242-1160     

Mary Steffan       M-Z 
       (334) 353-1226 
DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR   
Supervisor of ICPC Unit 
Phyllis Matthews     Adoptions   Caseload 
(334) 242-1468      E. Anne Holliday       A-L  
pmatthews@dhr.state.al.us    (334) 242-1371 
                    
Mailing Address          
Same as above      Daphne P. Manning       M-Z 
       (334) 242-1376     
Overnight Express Mail 
Same as above       
 
Address Correspondence and Telephone Calls To:  Appropriate Compact Administrator. 
 
ICPC Office Hours:  Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m., Central Time Zone. 
 
FAX is available for emergency purposes only: (334) 353-1052. 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
ICPC Code Citation. Code of Alabama 1975, Sections 44-2-26. 
 
Statutory Penalties Under Article TV. Penalties for improper placement is a misdemeanor and is punishable 
by a fine not less than $100 nor more than $1,000, or imprisonment of not longer than one year or both. 
(Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-16.) 
 
Age of Majority. 19 years. (Code of Alabama 1975, Section 26-1-1). 
 
Court Jurisdiction. Circuit Courts and District Courts exercise original concurrent juvenile jurisdiction in 
dependency, delinquency, or status offenses (children in need of supervision). In some counties, Juvenile 
Court status; in most counties, juvenile jurisdiction is in District court. Probate Court has adoption 
jurisdiction, but on motion of any party to the proceedings, the adoption can be removed from Probate 
Court to Juvenile Court. Circuit Courts have jurisdiction of divorces and child custody arising out of 
divorces. Some urban Circuit Courts in Alabama carry the name Family Court. 
 
SPECIAL INFORMATION 
 
Custody Investigations and Divorce Cases and Those Unrelated to the ICPC. The Department of Human 
Resources no longer completes court ordered home studies for visitation, divorce or other reasons. The 
court or family member residing in Alabama (for whom the investigation is requested) may contact a  
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licensed child placing agency or the Alabama Board of Social Work Examiners at (334) 242-5860 for a listing 
of Private Independent Practitioners (PIP) licensed in the social casework specialty. It is the responsibility of 
the person being investigated or other party to pay for the investigation. 

 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Reports. Quarterly unless otherwise requested. 
 
Licensing Requirements. Child-care facilities, such as child-care institutions, group homes, child placing 
agencies, foster family homes, must be approved by the Department or a licensed child placing agency. 
(Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-3). Adoptive homes must be approved by the Alabama Department of 
Human Resources. 
 
PLACEMENTS 
 
Independent Adoptive Placements. Lawful. No person or entity other than the Department of Human 
Resources or a licensed child placing agency shall engage in the business of placing minors for adoption. 
(Code of Alabama 1975, Section 26-10A-33). A pre-placement investigation shall be made to determine the 
suitability of each petitioner and the home in which the unrelated adoptee will be placed. The investigation 
must be performed by the Department of Human Resources, a licensed child placing agency or an individual 
appointed by the court who is a social worker certified by the state board of social work examiners for 
private independent practice in the social casework specialty (Code of Alabama 1975, 26-10A19). It is 
unlawful for any person or agency to bring or send a child into the State of Alabama for the purpose of 
placing him or procuring his adoption or placing him in any child care facility without the consent of the 
Department. Before giving approval for such placements, the State Department of Human Resources must 
receive from a social service agency social, medical, and background information about said child. At lease 
one of the natural parents must be interviewed. Birth certificates and court orders regarding custody must be 
received. A home study of the proposed parents must be made. (Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-15). 
 
Adoption Petition. Petition shall be filed within 30 days of placement for independent placements. Filed in 
the Probate Court of the county of residence of the petitioner, the child or the child placing agency having 
guardianship or custody of the child (Code of Alabama, Section 26-10A-4). Once an adoption petition has 
been filed, an interlocutory order shall be issued delegating custody of the child to the petitioner except 
custody shall be retained by the child placing agency which held custody at the time of placement until the 
entry of the final decree. Provided all other provisions of the law have been met, a final decree of adoption 
may be issued after the adoptee has been in the actual physical custody of the petitioners for sixty days. In 
related adoptions, when the child has been in the home for one year no investigation shall occur unless 
otherwise directed by the court. (Code of Alabama 1975, Section 26-10A-27 and Section 26-10A-28). 
 
Residential Placements. 
 

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: ICPC approval for acceptance by facility. 
 

-Requirements for Placements: ICPC-100A, child summary, custody document, any other 
pertinent information for approval, and supervision of placement. 

 
-Approval of Facilities: Child care institutions and group homes are licensed or approved by 
the Department of Human Resources. Referrals to such Alabama facilities from sending 
agencies can be made only to those facilities which are in compliance with Title VI of the 
Civil Rights Act of  1964. 
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-Rate Setting: Facilities set their own rate. 

 
-Monitoring of the Child: Responsibility rests with the sending agency and the placement 
facility. 
 
-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placements are to be made in licensed of 
approved facilities which best meet the needs of children. Legal and financial responsibility remains 
with the sending agency. 

 
Requirements for Foster Care Placements. Foster family homes, related and unrelated, must be approved in 
accordance with Alabama foster home standards (Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-4). Placements must 
comply with ICPC regulations. 
 
PAYMENTS 
 
TANF Payments. TANF payments will be made if TANF eligibility requirements are met. 
 
Medicaid Payments. Children eligible for Medicaid who are placed in foster homes out-of-state continue to 
be eligible for Alabama Medicaid. 
 
Foster Care Payments. Alabama foster care rates will be paid for children in foster homes out-of-state.  
Special Education Payments: The child may attend public school special education programs. 
 
USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
 
Child Abuse/Neglect Central Registry. (334) 242-9500, Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 
 
Mental Health Compact Office. (334) 242-3642, Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. 
 
Juvenile Compact Office. (334) 215-3817, Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. 
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